Brian McGovern wins, as Porsches clean up inaugural Rush Hour enduro

The inaugural Speed Works Rush Hour enduro has been won by Porsche pilot Brian McGovern (pictured below), with a second Porsche driven by Conal Dempsey finishing second, almost 10-seconds adrift. 

Rush Hour winner Brian McGovern blitzed the race with a long series of sub qualifying pace laps

The pairing, McGovern in particular, benefited from shorter scheduled pit stops, as well as mechanical failures for the once dominant Juno sports cars, as well as former race leader Glen Smith. In their absense Graeme Smyth finished third, helping give Mike Racing a podium finish on their competitive debut.

The dual Junos of David Glasson and Martin Short started from the front row and led from the off, quickly building a margin to the Porsche 911 shared between Paul Kelly and Daniel Gaunt (Kelly at the wheel).

The Porsche didn’t hold third for long, as Glenn Smith in his Reiter Engineering Camaro GT3 took the spot away. They then both gained a place, as Short peeled off the circuit to make a pit stop. The stop was unscheduled (outside of the pit window), and the car soon retired with terminal issues.

Elsewhere, Graeme Smyth was one of the quickest drivers on track. Having suffered a rough start, the Mike Racing driver and his Mercedes-AMG SLS were charging through the top five. Smyth soon was on the back of Smith in the battle for second, and at the beginning of lap seven he took the place at turn one.

Story courtesy of Velocity News