It’s Hammertime! Chris Hanley made a return to the winner’s circle

Chris ‘Hammertime’ Hanley is back in the winner’s circle after taking the spoils in the second race of the final weekend of the season for the PORTERGROUP V8 Utes at Pukekohe Park.

In another close and dramatic race, Hanley held off a charging Andrew ‘Hireman’ Porter to take the 12 lap encounter. But there was heartbreak for LDV Vans-backed Alexandra Whitley in her Holden, tipped into a spin by a flying Matt Spratt in a move for the lead which sent them both back into the pack and opened up the door for Hanley to take the win. Up until that point, Whitley had been in control of the race and seemingly had the measure of Spratt’s startling speed in the Primogrow Ford Falcon FG.

Championship leader Richard ‘Danger’ Moore extended his championship lead with third place, two places ahead of Paul ‘Auto’ Manuell and with just a single race to go. A second title in a row is now effectively Moore’s to lose.

Fourth after another solid drive was Peter “Kaos” Ward in the Ward Demolition Holden, backing up his great third place in Saturday’s race. Behind Manuell, Geoff ‘SOS’ Spencer avoided any drama to convert a front row start into sixth place, though pole sitter Jeff ‘Ripples’ Kernohan jumped the start before serving a drive through penalty and dropping to the tail of the field. Whitley recovered to seventh, crossing the line just centimetres behind Spencer, while ‘Dirty’ Dave Kernohan was top Ford in eighth in the KCL Ford Falcon BF. Spratt recovered to ninth, while Simon Ussher bagged another top ten finish in the United Freight Ford Falcon FG.

With Glen Collinson side-lined with a cracked block – doubtless a legacy of the monster Hampton Downs shunt – Panorama’s flag was flown by Jason ‘Mario’ Land and he brought the Betta Autoparts Falcon home eleventh. Brent Main headed home Ryco 82C Racing team mate Dave Lowe for twelfth and thirteenth, while Kernohan was classified fourteenth after his drive through.





Pos         Driver                                    Ute


1              Chris Hanley                       Placemakers Holden

2              Andrew Porter                  PorterGroup Holden

3              Richard Moore                  Mitre 10 Trade Holden

4              Peter Ward                         Ward Demolition Holden

5              Paul Manuell                      Super Freight Partmaster Holden

6              Geoff Spencer                  Coresteel Buildings Holden

7              Alexandra Whitley           LDV Vans Holden

8              Dave Kernohan                 KCH Ford

9              Matt Spratt                         Primogrow Ford

10           Simon Ussher                    United Freight Ford

11           Jason Land                          Betta Autoparts Ford

12           Brent Main                         Ryco 82C Racing Ford

13           David Lowe                         Ryco 82C Racing Ford

14           Jeff Kernohan                   KCH Ford


DNS       Glen Collinson                   DNA Paints Panorama Ford